30dec22

And we’re ending the very last week of the year! And this is also the weirdest week of the year, between Christmas and new year’s eve the time feels different and melancholic. For me even more, since I also celebrate my birthday during this week – December is a never ending celebratory month. This also kind of feels like the perfect week to lose track of time while crafting… But that will have to be a luxury for another year.

Last weekend was Christmas’ Eve and Christmas day. I spent the 24th in the kitchen cooking and baking. During the in betweens and resting breaks I knitted a bit, trying and failing to finish my sister’s balaclava in time for it to be a Christmas gift. It still is, only it is late. But she doesn’t mind since she’s been so busy with college work that her own Christmas presents will only be coming on her own Christmas day – february 11th – afterall, Christmas is whenever we want, right?! 

I finished the balaclava’s main part on the 24th. After that I worked on the rib around the face opening. I wanted to do a folded rib, it looks more professional and I also had quite a few yarn that I didn’t want to have leftover of. I knitted it a bit after Christmas day lunch and again before bed and finished it during the week. I’m now in the process of sewing the ends of all the color transitions. It looks really cool and feels super warm. I’m really happy with the result and it feels like I’ve come full circle with my knitting projects: at the start of January I attempted to knit a balaclava for myself but there wasn’t enough yarn and I ended up going for something different, the one I knitted didn’t even look that good, this one looks much better and it’s a structured piece like I’ve never done before, I’m quite happy with it! I’m wondering if I should make one for myself… 

And that was all the crafts I worked on this week. I’m also working on uploading some data into new organizational apps I plan to use next year. One app for fashion and clothes and another one for reading. I’ll give more info on that soon maybe. The plan for January is also to work on this website and blog and transform it a little. Wishing everyone a fantastic New Year, with health, peace and happiness!! Happy 2023!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started