13jan23

I didn’t post last week and I’ll be gone for a while but I wanted to write about it so here’s this post. With the beginning of the new year I thought I would give this space – blog and website – a new look and maybe even a few new features: I had been thinking about it for a while and even mentioned it before in a few blog posts. While trying to do so, two weeks ago, I figured out wordpress isn’t as easy as I was expecting… Mind me, I don’t know much about website design or construction. Back during my teenage years tumblr made it super easy for us to switch themes and colors. WordPress isn’t as simple. As one can see, this space did change its look but it was such a stress to do it, it actually made me rethink its purpose in my journey and the reason I’m doing this and what I’m doing it for. 

Back in the summer of 2020, when I finally started this page I really needed an outlet to share some part of me. I didn’t even know how important the writing process would be for me and my mental health. At the time I just wanted to document my exploration and adventures with textile crafts. But as it turned out, this ended up being the journal I needed during one of the hardest times in my life. From an outlet to let go and just write to a great archive and evidence of how far I’ve come and how hard I fought for myself. I love to go back and read posts from different times and different projects. It makes me see how I’m growing.

Right now I’m at a time of transitions. I’ve finished my masters – which I was about to start when I opened this page – and I’m trying to sort out my professional life. I’m doing vocational training for teaching adults and I’m expecting my future to go somehow in that direction but nothing is set in stone and I have an open mind about other opportunities. I decided to do this training because teaching will allow me to have a flexible schedule and work on my art, part time and hopefully professionally. With that said, I want to take my art to a new level. 

This blog was created to document my textile crafts projects, no matter what they were. Since its beginning I’ve written about knitted cardigans and vests for myself and others, about my grandma’s quilt and the Screaming bags, about several crochet projects, Christmas cards and Your Words embroidered postcards. I think I can say there was a big variety of techniques explored as there were different levels of artistry too. Right now I want to focus more on new artistic projects and be more confident on my art, which I still struggle with. In order to do so I want to change some things in the way I approach my practices and the way I do things. I’m still not sure how I’ll end up doing things but I’m not sure I’ll stay on this platform. I know I would like to still journal about the creative and creation process but I don’t think I want to do it on a schedule, I might do it for each project instead – I’m still thinking about it. And I might invest on a different and more simple platform for that, to keep writing and sharing my work.

In the meantime I’ll keep this page up and I might even come back to it after all. But for now I’ll be silent here. Feel free to keep following my work through instagram and reach out to me there.

Thank you

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started